[OP]: Love Sniper | Sunday Salutations

Good Afternoon everyone! How was everyone’s week been? Anything good happen? Go somewhere specific over the weekend? Anything out of the mundane happen?

As for me, since my boss went on vacation, it was a relatively chill week, yet still productive. The highlight of my week was that my work bestie got married on Friday. So those of you who I usually talk to on a daily basis probably noticed I was a bit MIA! 

Friday was busy also since I still went to work. Majority of the office was invited, so some of us left on time while upper management left a bit earlier. I went to my co-workers house to get ready there since she was close to the venue of the ceremony. We ended up running a bit late to the ceremony, and made it JUST on time for the vows. Talk about nerve-wracking holy smokes; she would’ve been so mad if I completely missed it. HAHA.

The reception was beautiful, and I know she really struggled with her decorator over it. There was so much alcohol and so much food (10 courses!) It was the first Vietnamese wedding I’d attended and apparently that’s a thing. The bride kept putting an emphasis on the fact she was really focusing on the menu of the wedding. She also hired a gelato cart to be there at the wedding!

Anyways, this week’s song is a bit different. It’s relatively short as it comes from a short form anime. This anime debuted in the Spring, and I essentially waited till the season was over because I thought they were regular 24 minute episodes. Boy was I wrong. These episodes were about 8 minutes each. I have to say, the short form style is really really growing on me.

Title: “Love Sniper” | Artist: Love Desire | Show: Kenka Banchou Otome: Girl Beats Boys

Kenka Banchou Otome: Girl Beats Boys is based on an otome game for the PS Vita. Honestly, I got such a kick out of this anime that I really hope that this game is localized.

Kenka Banchou Otome – Girl Beats Boys, Hinako Nakayama has spent all of her life being raised in state-run orphanages, without ever knowing her family. As she’s about to enter high school, Hinako is approached by Hikaru, a boy who claims to be her twin brother.

According to Hikaru, Hikaru and Hinako are the children of the head of the powerful Onigashima yakuza family, and Hikaru wants Hinako to switches places with him at Shishiku Academy, an all-boys school overrun with the nation’s toughest delinquents. Can Hinako save her brother, find romance, and become the new boss of the school?

(Source: Crunchyroll)

The premise is so ridiculous, but the set-up as how each character could possibly fall in love with the main character (despite believing she’s a dude) is actually set-up fairly well. I just found the anime to be so hilarious in the fact they literally have to fight their way to the top to be the head honcho at school.

9BF4CFDC-4F3B-4F27-9454-85BD642312D6-1101-0000024054887B7E.jpeg

So, since it’s not localized and I’m not sure when and if it ever will be, I decided to spoil the endings for myself by hunting down reviews, and it made me want to play it more. The heroine is the biggest reason as to why I want to play this; just based on the anime you know she can hold her own. I mean, she beats all the supposed baddies of the school and rightfully earned her spot at the top of the school. But while she’s strong she’s still got a sweet personality which wins over her followers (aka the guys you romance). Two of the guys are first years, while one is a mysterious figure from the Heroine’s past (and is able to see that she is a girl right off the bat). Another is an Idol, and the last one is a third year, and apparently kind of related to the heroine as an adopted older brother – apparently his story is the most complicated out of them all.

I already knew I’d love the blonde, Totomaru. But the guy that’s from Heroine’s past, Kira-senpai, is probably the route I want to play the most because he’s that child-hood friend turned lover type of premise and I love those routes. What I liked about Kira-senpai’s route in the anime was that even though he’s the only one to realize Heroines true identity, when they have to fight one another, he doesn’t hold back just because he’s a girl. However, he only fights full strength because he wants heroine to stop acting like a boy and go back to being a girl so that he can protect her and the only way she’d do that is if she’d defeat him. But she claims if she wins, she’d continue to play the role as a boy.

I’d give this anime a 6/10. I feel like otome’s and visual novels are hard to adapt just because of the many routes that are available. (I know SOME of you are probably yelling out ‘ Hakuoki!!!’ – I’m still trying to work on that anime, since I’m in the middle of playing the game). While the premise of this particular one is fun the 12 8-minute episodes only give us a taste of what it had to offer, and I’m left wanting more as I’ve become such an avid otome player as of late.

Anyways, if you guys are looking for a fun, silly, quick anime with a strong female-lead then Kenka Banchou Otome might be for you. Although the story barely covers as much as the Visual Novel it’s based on, it’s really fun and not to be taken seriously for it’s plot. It also has it’s moments of hilarity just because it’s so ridiculous. I mean, who doesn’t want to see a girl beat up a bunch of pretty boys?


Hope you guys have a great week! What you think of Kenka Banchou Otome! And, I hope you all are well, seriously! Let me know how you’ve been doing! 🙂

2 thoughts on “[OP]: Love Sniper | Sunday Salutations

  1. 924COLLECTIVE says:

    Sending good vibes from Miami. Actually finally got around to
    watching My Hero Academia (in one sitting) a nice break from
    our month long World of WordPress Summer Tour. Just heard
    about Girl Beats Boys & will definitely check it out. All the best

    Like

Leave a Reply

