[Archi-Anime Anecdotes]: Blurring the Boundary

Hello! So this is a bit of a new section on the blog. I originally wanted it to be part of my Take Two! posts, but I felt like they would get lost in the sea of anime. This segment is similar to Take Two! the difference is the content. I’ll be showing articles on art, architecture and design. I figure it’d be a great way to introduce you guys to a bit of my world outside of anime. I hope you enjoy it!

This type of Architectural discussion is quite close to my heart as it was the driving force of my final thesis. Blurring the boundary between the outside and inside; bringing nature in and bringing living space out. Is there a way to create architecture that’s undefinable in terms of it’s façade? Can we create a space that isn’t defined by enclosures and walls? Can we live without the corner or the straight edge? This probably sounds incredibly crazy and outlandish, but it’s the type of architecture that intrigues me.

There is a very thin line between the world of Art and Architecture, and it’s something that’s discussed as part of the discourse that is architecture. While I like to discuss the blurring of physical boundary in Architecture, the above article is discussing the blurred boundary between Art and Architecture. When does Art end and Architecture begin and vice versa?

Blur Building | Diller Scoffidio + Renfro

This is probably one of my favorite projects in existence. This “building” called the blur building is really made of nothing. It’s shape and form is created through a controlled cloud of mist and is at the mercy of the wind’s direction. The wind thus alters the views by concealing and revealing views and creating new spaces and paths for individuals to pass through and occupy.

The ‘Blur Building’ was a combination of  high art, installation art and architecture. The firm Diller Scoffido + Renfro entered this competition that had no real program. For those unfamiliar with some of these terms, by “program” we’re talking about the function/use of the space in question. Since there was no program associated with the site that was given, the firm decided to in return present nothing. Once an individual entered this “space” they were confronted with nothing; no visual cues, no sounds. just the misty fog.

This is just one interpretation of the subject of “blurring” and “undefining” architecture. I probably really sounds crazy, who wants to undefine architecture? With that being said, it’s clearly all theory; and I love architectural theory. The idea of creating architecture that’s not easily identifiable has become ingrained into my design senses, and that’s probably due to my eccentric education from SCI-Arc. SCI-arc has always been pushing the boundaries of the normalcy that is often associated with Architecture: straight walls, 90 degree angles, basic boxes. I’m so thankful to have been exposed to the more theoretical side of Architecture as it really brings out the dreamer in me. Honestly SCI-Arc is where over 500 mad scientists come together to create and define the future of architecture.

I got off topic in that end bit, sorry about that. I got a bit carried away with my love for my school. But hey, it wouldn’t be an anecdote if I didn’t have a story to go along with this right? I hope you guys take a look at the link I’ve provided as I found the projects and the article to be provoking in some of their designs and the thought processes behind them.


So, what did you think of the premier of Architectural Anecdotes? Did that give you a little bit more information on where I’m coming from in the field of Architecture? Is there anything you’d like to know or see when it comes to my life in Architecture? Would anyone be interested in me talking about and showing my own sketches/drawings/projects? I’d love to hear what you have to say in the comments below! Thanks for reading! Till next time!

6 thoughts on “[Archi-Anime Anecdotes]: Blurring the Boundary

  1. raistlin0903 says:

    I always like to learn new things, and this post was great for that. That “Blur Building” was absolutely amazing to look at. Never knew something like that existed. Thanks for sharing this wonderfully written post 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. WeekendOtaku says:

    I Meant to respond to this sooner but I dropped the ball. That’s happening a lot lately.

    First of all, that Blur building is really cool. That’s a totally radical concept to not have any set passageways, but to let nature create them on the fly.

    But the part about having no program is really surprising to me. I don’t know a lot about architecture at all, but this seems to contradict a lot of the traditional notions of design. If I read this correctly, the design was part of some competition directed around not having a program? I think in industry scenarios this kind of thing would never fly, since spending that kind of money without a real purpose for the building just seems inconceivable.

    That kind of thing really suggests that the building is more like an art piece rather than architecture, but I guess that’s the point of this post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

