[Kids on the Slope]: Episode 8 | These Foolish Things

note: guys, I apologize for having gone MIA on this watch-along and from the blog in general.  Last few weeks have been a bit rough; always felt exhausted with little to no energy after work and feeling under the weather, plus a busy family weekend followed by a con. I just felt like I needed a bit of a break..but I’ll be more in depth about what’s been going on on Sunday’s post.

a HUGE thank you to weekendotaku has been helping me a great deal by participating and creating these banners!


Kaoru’s popularity has risen exponentially since the performace at the festival. Instead of approaching him the girls decided to go through Ritsuko who is starting to question her feelings for both Kaoru and Sentaro.  Junichi tries to scare Yurika away, but her feelings remain steadfast while Sentaro is heartbroken upon witnessing Jun and Yurika together.

ep8_sen_kaoru.png

Ri-chan is surrounded by fangirls of Sen and Kaoru; her heart seems to be wavering as her thoughts seem to be consumed with Kaoru over Sentaro; and she tries to convince herself that Sentaro is the one for her and there’s no way she’s jealous of the popularity that Kaoru is experiencing.

Sen agonizes over the discovery of Jun and Yurika, and uses the drums to express his frustration and disappointment. We’re shown another example of how music transcends words as Sen’s erratic drum playing signals Kaoru to also play erratically and strangely on piano in response. It becomes clear something is amiss and Kaoru picks up on it from the get go. I think it’s courageous of Kaoru to be able to put his feelings aside for Ri-chan and let Sen know that there is someone that does care about him; he just hasn’t noticed yet. Sen completely oblivious to whom it is but comes to the slow realization.  Does Sen know how Kaoru feels? Kaoru has never expressed his interest in Ri-chan to Sen himself so I’m wondering how Sen feels about it.

ep8_kaoru_running

I don’t know what to think of this episode to be honest. We got a lot of screen time for Jun and Yurika, but I still don’t know what draws Yurika to Jun so strongly and on top of that the drive to completely change who she is for him (she chops off her hair for goodness sake).  At least we know something DID happen in that basement and that his spiral into depression is not linked to her but with how he was drawn into a politics and then disowned by his Father for not listening or rather, being the ideal son. Overall, this episode left me feeling a bit confused and it felt a bit more disjointed compared to previous ones. I think its because of Jun and Yurikia’s storyline; I don’t have a sense of attachment to them as I do with our main trio.

I guess we have to stay tuned for episode 9! We’re down to the final stretch!


What did you guys think of this episode? Let me know in the comments below! 🙂

 

6 thoughts on “[Kids on the Slope]: Episode 8 | These Foolish Things

  1. raistlin0903 says:

    First off: yes you are back. Second: yes you are back! So glad to see you back in action again. I really hope you are doing well. Truly no need to apologise. Sometimes real life catches up, and you just have to take a break. As much fun as blogging can be, it is not as important as real life. As mentioned I just hope all is wel with you 😊
    As for this episode I agree. It was a bit confusing. I also don’t know overall what to think of this series. It really has some fantastic moments, and I truly love the setting and relationship between the two main characters. But at the same time, I also at times wonder where the series want to go to. Still, it has been an enjoyable ride so far, and I wonder how the series is eventually going to end. I guess we will find out soon enough 😊

    Liked by 2 people

    • heyitszel says:

      Yay! Yeah, I’m going to slowly ease my way back into the blogging scene! Glad to be back, and thanks for such a warm welcome! 😀

      I really do love this show because of Sen and Kaoru and the jazz aspect. Their friendship really is something endearing! I’m looking forward to the following episodes! I may end up taking up reading the manga of this one because I heard it is slightly different 🙂

      Yay, thanks for commenting, and again for the warm welcome! I’ll be back in full swing soon enough! 😀

      Liked by 2 people

  2. WeekendOtaku says:

    I’m happy to see another one of these again! We’ve patiently held off on watching until you started back up because we’re that committed to this watch-along 😀

    I agree, a bit of an odd episode but at this point I don’t know how much more we need to reinforce the relationship between Sen and Kaoru. They’re pals for life as far as I can tell and not even Ritsuko seems to come between them anymore. Kaoru actively tries to push Sen toward her, but his feelings aren’t completely changed because we see him trying to convince himself again that it’s ok.

    Sen I don’t think has any idea about how Ritsuko feels, and I think there’s a lot of confusion all around where his romances are concerned. Yurika is entirely fixed on Jun for reasons I don’t fully understand yet, but we can see that Ritsuko is getting interested in Kaoru again, just as he’s pulling away.

    The series seems to shifting focus toward these changing feelings, and while it doesn’t seem like the most cohesive thing I would like to see how everyone is affected.

    Liked by 1 person

    • heyitszel says:

      Awww, I’m glad you guys waited. But I also feel bad that you did wait! D:

      You bring up a good point. I think the shifting focus might be the reason why the episode feels kind of disjointed.

      Yurika’s fixation is really odd; is it because he’s the cool older college student that plays trumpet really well? Are her feelings reciprocated? Or was Jun just messing with her on a whim. Now I’m starting to feel a bit more hazy on the situation.

      Ri-chan WAS knitting something for Kaoru right? I didn’t misinterpret that? It’ll be interesting to see if their relationship gets resolved; whether Kaoru and her will meet in the middle or will she realize her feelings too late and Kaoru is out of the picture? Or will she end up going towards Sen again out of comfort.

      Seriously, thanks for keeping up with me even though I really disappeared. You, Kimmie and Michel are real troopers! ❤ ❤ ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. KimmieKawaii says:

    Yay Zel is back! We missed you!

    The opinions posted seem to echo my own thoughts about this episode. I did notice that after music dominated the previous episode, it wasn’t depicted as much in this one.

    As far as Kaoru and Sen’s makeup, and success following their performance, I thought it was well executed. Though the attention being received is old hat for Sen, it is an exciting, overwhelming experience for Kaoru and I’m thoroughly enjoying witnessing it unfold.

    Aside from this, watching Sen’s heart being shattered was humbling, but a realistic depiction of young love, in my opinion. On a complete side note, how is this kid only 15? His appearance and forward behavior (towards Yurika) doesn’t reflect a young teenager.

    There is alot of potential for this series to end amid a ray of sunshine, but I imagine there are going to be a few more rain clouds before we see the rainbow.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

