kaoru playing someday my prince will come for ritsuko

[Kids on the Slope]: Episode 3 | Someday My Prince Will Come

note: weekendotaku has been helping me a great deal by participating and helping me out with these banners. I’m forever grateful!


Sentaro is feeling love for the first time and Kaoru sees it as a chance for him to get closer to Ritsuko. He plans a group date for the four of them but; Sentaro complicates the situation, which puts Kaoru in a bit of a bind the rest of the episode.

kaoru_loneliness

The first thing that I notice is Sentaro and his family. Sentaro is not as well off as Kaoru is judging by the appearance of his house. The shoji screens are ripped and the furniture is beyond well worn if not a bit beat up. On top of that Sentaro has a lot of siblings. I can’t help but notice the look on Kaoru’s face as he watches on, with a slight reflection of Sentaro and his siblings bouncing off his glasses. My initial thought is that Kaoru feels a sense of loneliness; he doesn’t have siblings, much less family he can really depend on and be close to the way Sentaro is with his own mom and siblings. Despite not having much the family is happy. The total opposite of Kaoru’s present state; who still somewhat struggles to find a place for himself on top of being able to express his true personality. I think Sentaro may very well embody the things that Kaoru wishes to project himself, but is still unsure if it’s okay to express himself the way that Sentaro does.

So that was an unexpected turn of events. I was under the impression Sentaro was being the protective older brother that might’ve been in love with Ritsuko, but gosh I can officially say that I got that totally wrong. Ritsuko may be the doting sister type to care for the unruly childhood friend. She’s never once had to confront those feelings since Sentaro has always been closed off to others and never let anyone in; until Kaoru came along. Despite her connection to Sentaro being threatened with Yurika she stows away her feelings and pretends that absolutely nothing is wrong. Although Kaoru notices this; he can’t help but feel guilty for having to put Ritsuko through all this because he was acting selfishly, even though he may have slightly knew that she felt something for someone; there was a bit of a hint in episode 2; Jun and Sentaro ascended the stairs of the basement and she watched the both of them leave, Kaoru wondered which of the two she was looking at.

kaoru_sentaro_makeup

Can I just say I really loved the make-up duet between Kaoru and Sentaro after their spat over the handkerchief? These two already are so in sync with one another’s play style; my favorite part was when Kaoru started to play and told Sentaro “Don’t just join in!” and the latter just says “I wasn’t joining in anything.” Sometimes in order to make-up, words don’t need to be exchanged to get overcome differences. These two seem to do well communicating to one another through music, and I really enjoy that aspect. I really love seeing Kaoru have so much fun playing jazz when he’s usually so straight-laced outside of that basement.

ritsuko reacting to karou's piano playing

This episode featured a beautiful rendition of Bill Evans’ “Someday My Prince Will Come” by Kaoru. I was sitting there wishing and hoping that Ritsuko’s face would light up as she listened to it, but she was so stone-faced through it that I realized she was completely missing the point of Kaoru’s performace when she assumed that she was just playing the part of a stand-in. I didn’t expect him to be so forthright with his own feelings to her, he’s built up a ton of confidence these last few “weeks” it’s kind of intense!

By the way, I really don’t know what to think or say about that scene of Yurika and Sentaro in the art room. Is she painting Senataro half naked?


What did you guys think of this episode? Let me know in the comments below! 🙂

 

7 thoughts on “[Kids on the Slope]: Episode 3 | Someday My Prince Will Come

  1. raistlin0903 says:

    So far, for me at least, this was the best episode that I have soon. The way Sentaro approached Yurika was priceless (and honestly that could have been me, way to shy when it comes to women lol 😂). Seriously though, it was a fun scene. I completely agree with the comment about the make-up duet. I had a smile on my face the entire time during that scene.
    Honestly I did feel bad for Ritsuko, and was also a bit surprised by this turn of events. But I always enjoy it, when things you don’t expect occur in a show. Ofcourse the highlight of the episode was Kaoru declarant his love. Wow, talk about courage. I really did not think he would go through with it, but just because of this it was a really fantastic scene 😊 I really like this serirs. It is touching, and honestly very heartwarming. I can’t wait to find out what will happen next. Glad I joined in for this watch a long 😊
    Ps: I replied to your questions about the reviews: I hope you received it and that I was of some help to you 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • heyitszel says:

      YES! Sen’s approach to Yurika was priceless! I loved how he had to read the note, and I was laughing because why’d they have to use such a word as “cultivate” poor Sen didn’t have a chance with Kaoru writing his script! But man when Sen said that it was Kaoru that was inviting Yurika out was even better. Talk about being put in the middle of the situation for Kaoru – trying to help a friend but it ends up blowing up in his face in more ways than one.

      I was very shocked by the realization that Ri-chan has feelings for Sentaro! The moment she handed that Onigiri to Kaoru and he remarked on the size; I think my eyes just got as big as his at the realization!

      Kaoru’s attempt in trying to repair the damage caused by his selfishness was also heartwarming. He wanted to protect her feelings which instigated the fight with Sen over the handkerchief and causing him to run away. Of course Ritsuko would think they’re fighting over the affection of Yurika.

      I also can’t wait to see what happens next and I’m glad you’re enjoying the watch along! 😀

      and yes I saw your email and am currently working on my reviews with some of your pointers in mind! 😀 hopefully i’ll have some of that content out soon! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. weekendotaku says:

    Things are starting to get pretty interesting with Ritsuko.

    I suspected that she has some kind of soft spot for Sen, who probably doesn’t even see her as a girl (Tsubaki syndrome). She seemed slightly disappointed over the thought that Kaoru might be interested in Yurika but is really broken up thinking Sen likes someone else.

    The scene in Sentarou’s home was especially striking to me. His teasing about Kaoru being rich makes complete sense once you see that. It was also really interesting how you couldn’t tell if it was pity or envy in Kaoru’s eyes as he spent time with them. As you said, it’s very different from his own home life – for better or worse.

    Music transcends words, as Kaori taught us. All it took to get Sen and Kaoru to make up was to put them in a room together with instruments. Sen grumbling “I wasn’t joining in anything” was the best.

    Yurika is a bit of a mystery still. We’re purposely not given the context of that scene where Sen is undressed, probably to put us on Kaoru’s side with respect to Ritsuko.

    Liked by 1 person

    • heyitszel says:

      I agree, it was pretty clear she would have a soft spot for Sen since they’ve grown up together and she’s been his only other friend really. Ah, yes and good point! She did seem a bit disappointed that Kaoru was the one that invited Yurika out and that maybe she was the one that he liked.

      It sucks that Ritsuko just sees herself as friend A even when Kaoru, although subtly, tries to express his interest in her. First by inviting her to study -his lame attempt at a date. Second when he stumbled over his words trying to tell her she was wrong in thinking she had to look like Yurika, and third when he wanted her to listen to him play she didn’t think it was for her but she was a stand-in. Either she was oblivious, or she’s actively trying to make herself friend A because her feelings are elsewhere.

      It was an interesting twist I didn’t expect, looking forward to Thursday’s episode! Seriously, thanks so much with the banners – they’re a lifesaver! 😀

      Like

  3. KimmieKawaii says:

    I meant to respond to this earlier and time seemed to slip away from me. I agree with Raistlin, best episode thus far. I also agree about the whole jazz session makeup being absolutely heartwarming.

    What I didn’t expect was Ritsuko being upset about Sentaro’s interest in Yurika. It makes sense, given how close they are I suppose. It seems she is struggling with wanting him to be happy and being fearful that he might become even more emotionally scarred in the process.

    I also didn’t expect how Karou would react to the entire situation, how he would turn that frustration on Sentaro for “hurting Ritsuko.” I can’t decide if it is brilliant or absurd. I couldn’t personally wrap my head around his overreaction but I guess it makes sense?

    While the changing of the seasons tells us that time is passing quickly, Karou’s unwavering adoration for Ritsuko feels somewhat forced (don’t hate me!) I love how beautiful their relationship is, especially the romantic confession at the very end. With that said, I feel this series could benefit from more internal dialogue from Karou, so viewers can fully comprehend what about Ritsuko captivates and inspires him.

    Liked by 1 person

    • heyitszel says:

      A late reply is better than no reply! 😀 You make a lot of good points! I jumped to the conclusion that Ritsuko has romantic feelings for Sen versus she’s just afraid she’s going to lose her childhood friend/bff or worse get hurt like you said. LOL to be fair, i did think the fight over the handkerchief was a little tooooo dramatic…them getting all upset over it and kaoru running away with it. I get it he was trying to shield Ritsuko from it cuz he could feel the tension…haha

      Also, i read this AFTER i posted my episode 4 review…but first let me just say i don’t think i could ever hate you! All comments are welcome even if we disagree. However, I did make note in the next episode, that i’m really not sure why he’s into Ritsuko either. He mostly remarks on her smile and kind-heartedness but is there anything more than that? Agreed on his internal dialogue about her..for sure! I think sometimes his thoughts of Sentaro are much more clear than those of Ritsuko. lol! The seasons are indeed changing fast!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

