[Watch-Along]: Kids on the Slope Announcement!

Hey hey everyone! As I mentioned on my OP/ED of the week, I’m going to start a watch-along of Kids on the Slope. I’m excited a few people have shown some interest in it! 😀

I found this anime on a whim based on a clip I saw on Facebook that Crunchyroll had posted. As a music lover and a musician, I loved it. I have not seen it, nor do I know much about it. This anime, this will also be completely brand new to me as it is for many of you as well!  Judging from what I’ve seen, it looks pretty solid. It’s not far behind in ratings if I were to compare it to Your Lie in April.

So hopefully this won’t be a huge dud! XD. Can’t wait to get this one started with my fellow bloggers! I’ll be starting this blog series this Friday, April 28, 2017. I’ll try to do it daily, but it could end up being every other day.

Kidsontheslope2.jpg

Kids on the Slope or “Sakamichi no Apollon”, is a heartwarming story of friendship, music, and love that follows three unique individuals brought together by their mutual appreciation for jazz set in the summer of 1966 in Japan.

Introverted classical pianist and top student Kaoru Nishimi has just arrived in Kyushu for his first year of high school. Having constantly moved from place to place since his childhood, he abandons all hope of fitting in, preparing himself for another lonely, meaningless year. That is, until he encounters the notorious delinquent Sentarou Kawabuchi.

Sentarou’s immeasurable love for jazz music inspires Kaoru to learn more about the genre, and as a result, he slowly starts to break out of his shell, making his very first friend. Kaoru begins playing the piano at after-school jazz sessions, located in the basement of fellow student Ritsuko Mukae’s family-owned record shop. As he discovers the immense joy of using his musical talents to bring enjoyment to himself and others, Kaoru’s summer might just crescendo into one that he will remember forever.

– MAL Synopsis

12 thoughts on “[Watch-Along]: Kids on the Slope Announcement!

    • heyitszel says:

      Oh gosh, now the pressure is on!! LOL You set the bar really really high though…I’m gonna try my best to hold myself to that standard! Your graphics for the headers were great to. I have a lot to learn from your stuff! Btw, I ..have been meaning to ask…what did “motif” mean in your YLiA posts? I never got around to asking…lol Better late than never!

      Liked by 2 people

      • weekendotaku says:

        Lol I was just kidding. Let’s have fun with this no matter how you decide to do it. Don’t go over the top and leave yourself time to enjoy this anime too.

        Haha, better late than never indeed. Hmm.. maybe I used the word wrong, but definition I was going for was “a distinctive feature or dominant idea in an artistic or literary composition.”

        Of course, the musical definition also fits “a short succession of notes producing a single impression; a brief melodic or rhythmic formula out of which longer passages are developed.”

        Basically it was any theme that I knew would repeat later or be expanded upon in the series. Like what I talked about with the light and shadows, trivial moments being memorable, and colors from music.

        Liked by 2 people

  1. KimmieKawaii says:

    I can hear my husband’s heart (or head rather) swelling from all you’re praise. I’m looking forward to starting with you on Friday! Pace yourself and enjoy the experience! We can’t wait to follow along!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. raistlin0903 says:

    Yes, I have been patiently waiting for this announcement and am truly excited that it is here. I am really looking forward to it. I have really enjoyed Weekend Otaku’s rewatch feature (but then again you probably noticed that lol), and I can’t wait to start on this one. Seeing how much fun all your posts always are, I already know this will be another highly enjoyable ride. I have noted down the date, and have to restrain myself to not already start watching 😂😂 Good luck with this, but seeing how great a job you are already doing, I guess you don’t really need that anyway 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • heyitszel says:

      Aw geez! That’s some pretty high praise!! Thanks, I will seriously do my best! I know I’ve been dying to watch but we were in the middle of YLiA lol!

      Thanks! I’m so glad you’re joining in on this as well! I’m thankful you’ve bumped this up on your list, Yuri on Ice is a strong contender to be put up against!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

