Weekend Update, a Song and a Question!

Hey everyone! Your friendly neighborhood spider-man Hazel (hmm, that doesn’t quite work does it?)here to say hello and to kick off the week with you guys with another OP! I’ve chosen this for a reason, see further below!

Title: “Sakamichi no Melody” | Artist: Yuki | Show: Kids on the Slope

So, I had a pretty eventful weekend. Minus Sunday, since Sunday is my absolutely chill please don’t make me do anything while I blog day. Saturday was spent all day in San Francisco to hang with my guy bestie. He missed the original screening of SAO:Ordinal Scale and he was legit upset he missed it. Luckily the Dubbed version was announced shortly after that, so he made me promise I would go with him to see it -that was essentially what we did yesterday. Dubbed version was just as great; and honestly I was able to watch and enjoy the action scenes since I didn’t have to read subtitles.

Anyways, we grabbed lunch in Japantown; had a bottle of sake. Went to Kinokuniya where my bestie had to unfortunately watch me spiral into fangirl mode over the sight of all the merchandise of my Touken Ranbu crush Mikazuki Munechika, and over the B-Project OST among other merchandise as well as Hakuoki blind boxes. We later even got to try this ‘”culinary phenomenon” or hipster stuff called Dragon’s Breath that I had recently seen on facebook:

It’s basically Trix cereal bathed in liquid nitrogen. It was really cool at first; but after awhile your mouth starts to get tired. But it looks cool; and a ton of people will ask you where you got it. Great conversation starter!

That pretty wraps up my weekend. I’m about to finish Vision of Escaflowne today, and actually have a proposition to my followers. As most of us are already involved in weekend otaku’s Your Lie in April Re-Watch Event; I couldn’t help but be inspired to ask who would be interested in doing a Watch-a-long with me? It would be very similar to WeekendOtaku’s format; except it’s not a re-watch but an anime I haven’t seen.

Recently I stumbled across a clip to Kids on the Slope; and bookmarked it based on this one scene along. I also showed it to my bestie yesterday since he is a HUGE Jazz fan. Hence why I chose the OP for the show as this week’s feature. The performance I had seen floored me and got me to look into the show. I’m going to start watching this series soon, and wondered if anyone would be interested in participating alongside me?  Let me know in the comments below!

Other than that, I hope you all had a great weekend! I love these weekly check-ins to see how everyone’s doing!  What kind of (non)-mischief did everyone get into? If you could rank them, what would be the best thing that happened this weekend?

13 thoughts on “Weekend Update, a Song and a Question!

    • heyitszel says:

      LOL well it’s also music related. My bestie got a head start and already finished like 3 episodes. I was telling him that we’re supposed to pace ourselves for discussion! LOL

      But yay! Okay, yay! one person so far! 🙂

      Like

  1. raistlin0903 says:

    Hello again 😊😊 A lot of questions but to start with the most important one. I just checked if Kids on the slope is available for me (you never quite know here in Europe lol), and it is. I have seriously never heard of this series, but if you do these posts in about the same format as Weekend Otaku: I will definitely join in. No problem at all 😀😀 Looking forward to it. Your lie in april has three more episodes to go, and I had planned on starting with Yuri on Ice then, but it can wait. Really enjoyed the rewatch posts from Weekend Otaku, and for me it was ‘t a rewatch but it was new 😊
    As for your other question: best thing that happened this weekend. Hmmmm…I would have to say watching episode 4 of Attack on Titan season 2….it was seriously awesome. That, and celebrating the fact that tomorrow I also still have a day off 😊😊 I hope you will have a great week, and will keep my eyes out if you are going to start with Kids on the slope 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • heyitszel says:

      Huzzah! Another person! I had heard about Kids on the Slope, but didn’t know what it was about until I saw a clip floating around. I should post it to my FB page as a preview for it. I love music, and was impressed by the jazz aspect of it. And my jazz-loving friend has been stunned by it so far so it seems promising!

      OMG Ymir finally showed herself! 😀 I’ve been waiting for the day, and I can’t wait for the Historia episode!! Ah, man lucky you have another day off! I wish my weekend wasn’t ending so soon!

      Liked by 1 person

      • raistlin0903 says:

        Haha, well I just added it to my favorites in my anime app, so I can find it easily. I have no idea what it is about, but I will let myself be surprised 😊As for Ymir….that really was a surprise…wow!. Yes I am glad myself. Can watch some anime goodness as well as a movie 😊 Well, good luck at work, and as I said, looking forward to the start of your posts 😊

        Liked by 1 person

  2. DerekL says:

    We went to the Sakura Festival over in Seattle on Saturday (I’ll blog it later this week), and spent Sunday just chillin’.

    Kids On The Slope has been on my radar for a very long time, but this season I really need to concentrate on current-season so I don’t screw up my blog like I did last season. Plus it’s getting to be Spring/Summer here in the Pacific Northwet and that means we are going to be out and about on weekends more, further cutting into time available for other pursuits. So dangit, I’m going to have to bow out.

    I wish the Ordinal Scale dub was playing somewhere reasonably close, as I’d love to see it… We enjoyed the heck out of the sub.

    Liked by 1 person

    • heyitszel says:

      Ah darn 😦 It’s okay! I like the idea of the watch along so this won’t be the last time!! Ah darn that’s weird it says I’m not following you! well that’s been fixed!! as someone that’s on the west coast I should be looking forward to more outdoor activities….want to get back to Big Sur and Monterey area.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

