Annnd, I’m back. Hiatus done! Adulting Success!

Hello ani-blogging community! My two week hiatus is just about done. I’ve adulted quite successfully. *steeped fingers* *sinister voice* “The plan went according to plan.” (does that suffice shoujothoughts?!) I was starting to have blog withdrawals to be honest, but I did try to keep up with everyone’s posts! It was a much needed break; but I have a renewed vigor for both blogging and studying now that I have a set study schedule that I can try to adhere to! Btw the key to my madness is: a planner, notebooks, colored post-it’s and a multitude of colored pens. Clearly that just mean’s I’m going to be a really busy bee the next few years.  LOL I’ll just have to show you a filled out week/month from my beloved planner.  Honestly, I should write a review on my planner – just because it’s the best thing I’ve ever invested in this particular planner!

So for those of you that don’t know, I’m currently a designer at an Architecture firm, and have been working full-time the last three years at the same firm. When I turned 30, I made a promise to myself that I would be licensed by the time I turned 35. I had started the exam process last year; I took my first one and failed my first one.  I have about 3.5 years left to accomplish this goal ((>_<) I just gave away my age!!!) On top of that personal goal, I made a promise to my firm at my last performance review that I would aim to take 3 (out of 7) exams this year.

Unfortunately the exams are in a weird transition stage. I started in the ARE (Architect Registration Examination) 4.0’s, and last year the ARE’s launched 5.0. The newest version is supposedly more streamlined and condensed into 6 exams instead of 7 (not including the California state exam) on top of a more user friendly practical test. I could’ve waited to start in 5.0, but here’s the thing. 5.0 is brand-spanking new. There are no study guides out there yet; which is a disadvantage I wouldn’t know where to begin where to study. I took an exam in 4.0 to lock myself into a tried and true system that had plenty of reviewers and material to gather from. But wait! There’s more! Exams I pass in 4.0 will transition to the 5.0 model. A reason why you’d want to start in 4.0 and THEN transition to 5.0 is actually pretty cool: If I pass the three exams I’m hoping to pass this year and then transition to 5.0 I will only be taking 5 exams instead of 4.0’s 7 and 5.0’s 6.

I probably confused you, but thanks for bearing with me and thank you guys so much for the continued support in both my professional life and blogging life! I’ll be back to my scheduled programming!

This week’s OP is comes from Attack on Titan Season 2, because-FINALLY. We’re finally given our long awaited Season 2, and I can’t wait to see how the story unfolds in animated form!! Probably the most highly anticipated for me this season. I haven’t really established what else I’ll be watching the rest of the season. I’ll try to get that list down at some point.

Title: Shinzou wo Sasageyo! | Artist: Linked Horizon | Show: Attack on Titan S2

By the way, is anyone else annoyed that Amazon’s picked up a ton of anime under ANOTHER anime provider. I mean- I pay for Prime, Crunchyroll and Funimation. I don’t to add another one! I’ll also have to look into if transitioning into VRV will be worthwhile.

Did you guys have a great weekend? What did you do? See any movies, go on any dates?Check out new restaurants? I’d love to see what you guys have been up to on the weekends. Let me live vicariously through you LOL!

Have a great week guys!

20 thoughts on “Annnd, I’m back. Hiatus done! Adulting Success!

  1. raistlin0903 says:

    Haha…/yeah: jumps up and down: she is back! 😀😀 Welcome back, good to hear that everything went according to plan, and that your break has re-energised you so to speak. Glad to see you back in action, can’t wait for all the new posts that will be heading our way. As for your question: my weekend has been spent watching movies, anime (Attack on titan season 2…of ofcourse, the tragically beautiful Your Lie in April, and the very cool Kando), and reading a novel. That said ofcourse I also spent some time blogging. Anyway: as said welcome back! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. shoujothoughts says:

    That does indeed suffice!! I’m so glad that you successfully adulted!! I think it’s really cool that you’re going for your ambitions and that you’re giving your best to reach your goals!!
    *・゜゚・*:.。..。.:*・'(*゚▽゚*)’・*:.。. .。.:*・゜゚・*
    (Also, you are like the same age as my big brothers and I’m a nerd so that’s cool, too. Hehe)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lethargic Ramblings says:

    It’s great to have you back! Glad to hear you managed to successfully be an adult in the real world as well!

    I’m far too lazy to take being an adult seriously at this stage in my life, but perhaps one day that’ll change!

    Also this opening was sweet! Happy to see AoT finally back!

    Looking forward to seeing more posts!

    And once again, welcome back! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • heyitszel says:

      Thanks for the warm welcome Leth! 😀 LOL, trying to adult seriously is hard. But I’m trying. Balancing my childlike heart while being ambitious is not easy, but gotta balance work/life and fun right? LOL

      Yay! I’m trying to get some stuff content together! I have some architectural posts in the making! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. D says:

    Welcome back! And wow, you seem to be adulting pretty good 😀

    The s2 OP is okay – it’s actually growing on me now – but I don’t think it has the explosive impact of the s1 openings.

    Liked by 1 person

    • heyitszel says:

      Thanks! I feel so loved! 🙂 HAHA, I seem to be (on paper) at least. Till Persona 5 came along….*sigh* I’ll get back on top of things soon! LOL

      Yeah, I agree. Season 1 was much more explosive in terms of hyping you up for the show, but I had to feature it. Too excited to have A0T back!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. DerekL says:

    Welcome back yah young pup! (You hadn’t even entered double digits when we got married – we’ll celebrate our 27th anniversary this year!)

    Had a great weekend, went and saw Your Name of Friday, went to the annual rummage sale held by the local Rotary club on Sat, spent the rest of the weekend lazing about and not accomplishing much. (Though I should have been writing.)

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Remy Fool says:

    I’m glad you’re back! And dang that’s quite the goal you have set for yourself. I wish you the best of luck! Keep us updated you go-getter!

    This is how far behind I am on blogging and other people’s blog posts by the way haha…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

