Winter 2017: Week 2

Week 2 of the Winter season has just about ended and I’m trying my best to keep up! I noticed my posts can be graphic heavy, so I’m trying to lay off a bit and only going to choose a few scenes that stuck out to me the most per show. Not every show is going to have a compelling scene for me to screenshot. I’m also keeping this post open as I watch each episode, so these may end up being a stream of conciousness, of things I’ve noticed, picked up on, or even question. Also, fair warning: I think it’s safe to say this series of posts will be filled with Kikuhiko’s face this winter season. >_<

WINTER 2017

Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinju: Sukeroku Futatabi-hen
Yotaro is in a tough position. He hasn’t found his niche in Rakugo, and now he’s got doubts about Konatsu, who he’s seen with another man. It’s become pretty clear that instead of understanding the stories he’s telling; that he’s just reciting how he’s heard it; and although 8th gen. Yakumo has told him to knock it off, he can’t deny that Yotaro has a good ear. This is problematic; how can you tell a story without understanding the context and why the story is being told? I can see why he hasn’t found his own style of Rakugo yet.
I also love the fact that Yotaro wants Yakumo, Konatsu, the baby and himself to be like a real loving family. The way he expresses it so much despite that Yakumo and Konatsu don’t get along is really endearing – especially when he brought 4 goldfish home: each one a symbol for each of them. I’m fairly certain that the black fish is Yakumo…black just like his heart /start fangirl rant, I cannot get over Yakumo/Kikuhiko’s facial expressions; he’s just so handsome with that look of disdain plastered on his face! Probably the cutest old man character ever to have exisited! He looks so regal and refined mixed with sex appeal!! >_< /end fangirl rant

Scum’s Wish
Wow, I’m floored by Hana telling Noriko to not cling to things that don’t belong to them. She’s a bit savage about it, which makes me wonder if she’s trying to stick to the making their relationship look real, or if she’s starting to feel something for Mugi – she does react a certain way later on in the episode when Mugi ruffles her hair a bit instead of kissing her, with her remarking “it’s like he’s my boyfriend”. The introduction of these 2 new characters add another layer of unrequited love. However I like Ecchan’s view-point as I’m not familiar with a girl-girl pairings in anime/manga. It’s clear that she’s in love with her best friend and Hana has no idea…but to end on that cliffhanger! What will happen between the two?  Will Hana tell Mugi what happened? Is this the development of another complex friendship? Ah! I’m so curious! Will Mugi and Hana end up falling for one another? But maybe not because, Hana believes that once you fall in love, it just has to be them. So many questions. Overall the episode was just as strong as the first, and I really hope it continues on this way for the rest of the series.
screen-shot-2017-01-24-at-11-30-34-pm

Acca-13
I don’t know why but I like this show’s “chill factor” and its art style, AND it’s jazzy OST. Jean and Nino are just two guys that are just super mellow, and I like it. But in the big picture, I guess, why is it being assumed that Jean is the leader of the coup d’etat. I’m quite curious if there’s something about Jean under the surface that we don’t know about, especially with the introduction of his friend Nino…who is apparently a double agent. What the heck?? Jean said they’ve been friends for 15 years, but Nino says to Grossler he’s known him for 30? Hmmm, I don’t know how to feel about Nino, and why are people bent on framing Jean?? So many questions!

Blue Exorcist
Screen Shot 2017-01-23 at 11.36.29 PM.png
The plot is still being set up in these early episodes as well as the characters learning how to deal with their feelings about Rin being satan’s son.  I’m glad one of the characters already gave up on trying to give him the cold-shoulder, because what he said in the above screenshot is true. It takes more effort to avoid and ignore the issue than face it head on.

Nanbaka
The episode starts of with its usual slapstick antics, but they are starting to push the plot again. I’m pretty sure it has something to do with the guard name Samon. The episode ends on a cliffhanger – which isn’t that much of a surprise I could see that coming a mile away.

Masamune-kun’s Revenge
IMG_2988.PNG
This scene made me laugh way more than I should have, but….I feel you homie, I feel you.
Anyways, I think we’re about to see Masamune-kun fall head over heels again for the woman he vowed revenge against. I’m also curious as to what traumatic story Adagaki has that caused her to eat so much – I wonder if it’s related to him? I have a feeling it links back. Also, a new character was introduced; she looked a bit like Yoshino, but an older version of her.

Fuuka
The fight between Yuu and Fuuka seems a bit contrived, but it was kind of endearing how Mikasa resolved the situation by talking to them separately and then having Fuuka listen in on how Yuu actually feels about their fight.   Overall, I definitely like the relationship between Yuu and Fuuka that’s slowly growing – I think she’s a better match for him than the childhood friend. But boy, is she gonna be jealous when she finds out Yuu actually knows the band they both loved growing up. Not only that – the singer Tama and the bassist Nico are missing – I wonder if that’s supposed to be some kind of reflection on Yuu and Koyuki. I hope I’m reading too much into the comparison.

Super Lovers 2
This was a cute episode. Sometimes it can be a bit cringeworthy considering the age gap 16 & 24 respectively. I just want Ren to hurry up and be of age and for them to really sort their complex feelings out. Haru especially just needs to really be the adult and come to terms with what kind of relationship he wants with Ren. On another note, I’m up to date with the manga and I keep thinking about the latest chapter and how I’m completely twisted over it because it’s just one bad thing happening after another to Haru. I just want these two to be happy!

Fall 2016 Continuations

*March Comes in like a Lion (see Author’s note with * at end of post)
*All Out!!


Miscellaneous Shows (from the backlog)

Gravitation
I started watching this per NajaMel and Jill‘s suggestion. As our fangirl chats on LINE include spamming each other with a bunch of bishies almost daily. They said it was a must see for a BL fan. I’m into episode 3 so far, and I’m pretty into it, Eiri Yuki has already caught my eye. So far so good! 😀

*Re: Zero
I took a break from this one after binging the first part of the first season. But so far it’s been an interesting ride. I’m on the fence if I really like this one or not, but my cousin and I have been debating over it because he thinks its the best thing ever and I’m not 100% sold. What are people’s thoughts on Re:Zero?

*Author’s note: I’m currently behind on these shows but I swear I’ll continue these and write about them at some point, things are getting a bit crazy both in work and at home.*

One thought on “Winter 2017: Week 2

Leave a Reply

