Hauntingly Beautiful

This weekend was really productive! I did some major adulting and scheduled a bunch of blogs to come out this week! I’m trying to plan ahead since I’m about to get a bit more busy both at work and with studying for the ARE.

I’m picking a song much different than my usual, just because I’m just I haven’t been able to stop thinking about Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu since I started watching season 2.

Title: Imawa no Shinigami  | Artist: Megumi Hayashibara
Show:
Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinju: Sukeroku Futatabi-Hen

Season 2 is shaping up to be about Yotaro this time around and how he’s affected Yakumo and Konatsu’s life.  It’s one of my favorites this season. This song has a haunting quality to the song, it’s also got an old school crooner’s vibe to it. I like the depiction of Yakumo/Kikuhiko in this because it’s clear he’s lived with pain and regret throughout his life since he lost his best friend. The ending with Sukeroku opening up Yakumo’s robe’s is enthralling as to simply symbolize that Yakumo despite his success in life is not just feeling empty and hollow, but maybe feels dead on the inside. It’s a powerful image that really stuck to me in this OP.

Anyways, hope everyone has a yet another great week! Did any of you guys do anything productive this weekend?

8 thoughts on “Hauntingly Beautiful

  1. shoujothoughts says:

    Is the ARE an architecture registration exam?

    Perhaps I should give “Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu” a look. I’ve never heard of it until now, but it’s josei and it’s from Studio Deen, so it might be something I need to consider!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

