30 Day Anime Challenge | 02

….I have a lot of favorites. But if I were to choose one of those other ones I would be repeating myself throughout this challenge, and I’d prefer a wide variety to discuss in these posts. So…the prompt says,’Favorite anime so far”. So far being the operative term for me, what does that mean?-So far… in all of the anime I’ve watched? So far… this year? So far… this season? So far…this week? I’m probably over-analyzing this a bit but so far could mean anything. But if I were to choose a favorite so far right now at this very second it shouldn’t be a surprise that Haikyuu! is in the top spot currently. I’ll save those other favorites for the other categories.


 

season_final_end_card

Haikyuu is one of my current favorites and the leads the pack in the sports anime genre that I’ve thoroughly enjoyed. I’m also a fan of Kuroko No Basket and Free! but Haikyuu! is just on a level of it’s own. It’s quite possible I’m hyping this anime, but I genuinely feel like this particular sports anime is a cut above the rest.

hinata_and_kageyama_1

LOL I just realized Kuroko and Kagami (kuroko no basket) have a similar pose/photo

 

One of the reasons as to why I love this anime is that while telling the stories of the deuteragonist (dual protagonists) they manage to weave how the game of volleyball is played quite seamlessly into the plot. As someone that’s not overly familiar with the sport and the positions that are the rules of the game are explained through the eyes of our clueless club advisor Takeda Sensei or even at times our main character Shoyo Hinata or several other characters like Coach Ukai (senior).

screenshot

The best screenshot I could find when they were explaining positions/plan of attack

I also really enjoy this series because of the emphasis on team play. Individually everyone has had to grow in order to create a stronger team as a whole and they don’t want to entirely rely on a sole character’s skills; which I feel is the case for Kurorko No Basket. Another positive aspect of this anime is the character development of a lot of the players, and I plan to do an in-depth overview on each of them as separate posts. In comparison to the other sports animes I’ve watched; the focus is often on the main character and their respective teams.  In Haikyuu, we often get to view other teams perspectives on a match and what other character’s are feeling or struggling with. These additional stories add more depth to the story and to the relationships between characters. We also get an outside look of how Karasuno looks to other people.  I like that we get to see the whole picture of the world of Haikyuu and we’re not just stuck to one view only. Each player on Karasuno’s team has had the spotlight on them at some point, so we get to see the entire team grow and learn together throughout the series.

kags

Kageyama being overly excited to touch the volleyball

My favorite of the series is Tobio Kageyama. So far the progression of Kageyama’s character in the story has been really satisfying in terms of pace and story. He’s so serious about volleyball that it’s the only thing that occupies his brain; in fact he’s a volleyball genius. But underneath all that he’s actually he’s a socially awkward bumbling idiot that can’t express himself correctly. What’s not to love?  How can you not love these adorable goofballs?!

haikyuu-season-2-promotional-video-2

…I think this was again a bit more in-depth than I had intended it to be – but it seems I can fully nerd out on each of these topics – and I’m completely okay with flying the nerd flag high in this space.

23 thoughts on “30 Day Anime Challenge | 02

  1. Ma. Venus Gamboa says:

    Agree! Haikyuu’s on a different level in the sports genre! It’s quite difficult to choose a bias. Tobio’s an adorable dork. All of them actually. But my heart goes to Tsukishima Kei. Don’t ask me why coz I’m not even sure myself.

    You’re not alone on this! Haikyuu is a very strong contender this season!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. raistlin0903 says:

    Haha, well I happen to like these in-depth posts, so I really don’t think that is a bad thing. Besides Yuri on Ice, I have seen this one pop up on a lot of blogs as well these days. It’s another sports Anime, so I usually ignore those, but lately it seems as if a higher power is telling me to go and watch sports Anim (either that or start doing sports myself) Well the latter will never happen (lol) but maybe I will pick up some kind of sports Anime in the near future. Great post 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • heyitszel says:

      Thanks! Haha I’m not minding these posts either! They’re a actually a lot more fun to write than I had expected! haha it’s a sign! It’s worth a try. Just 3 episodes should help you determine if it’s for you or not I think. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. julpen says:

    RIGHT!! The thing i really love about haikyuu is that it really is not entirely karasuno-centric. You get to see a variety of the other volleyball teams with each respective player, who always have a wonderful backstory on their own! Its rather easy to have a favourite team or player other than the main protagonists (Go Shiratorizawa!) its an anime with a really nice sense of humour and just really loveable characters; a well deserved rank of favourite anime so far 😉
    Great review! its really nice when they are more in-depth!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lethargic Ramblings says:

    An interesting choice!

    I’ve yet to watch Haikyuu but it’s been on my watch list for the longest time and is currently on my “Great List of Shows to Watch” text document where I use a random number generator to help me decide what to watch next, so I’ll no doubt get round to it sometime in the near future.

    I’m glad that they focus on the other teams, as well as integrate the rules of volleyball into the plot. That’s pretty much the two main things I look for most in a sports series, since I love seeing multiple perspectives and I’m not that big of a sports guy in real life, so my knowledge of sports is awful.

    I’m really looking forward to getting to this one now.

    Good read! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • heyitszel says:

      I was super hesitant about the sports anime genre myself. I was hesitant because I doubted how interesting the sports genre would be since I watch live sports to begin with. I was really bored one day and was stuck between Kuroko No Basket and Haikyuu. I went with Kuroko first because I was more familiar with basketball. I enjoyed it for what it was but the end seemed to become more unrealistic lol. But after I finished that one of my best guy friends told me Haikyuu was a must see. But yeah the storytelling in Haikyuu is what really won me over, and basically set the bar for other sports anime I watch. lol. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

      Like

  5. Cat says:

    I looove Haikyuu too, it’s so gorgeous and the characters are all such adorable cuties!
    If you want another anime focused on team play and which is as good if not better, for me it is cause well I’M BIASED OK, Ace of Diamond is A++++!

    Liked by 1 person

    • heyitszel says:

      lol I’m always up for recommendations! I’ve been eyeing that one for awhile! I’ll definitely look into it. And lol, I just spammed like a ton of your post and followed u back! I’m playing a bunch of those otome games u wrote about! lol thanks for the comments and the Follow!!

      Like

      • Cat says:

        You can’t go wrong with Daiya, I’ve hooked some people and they always love it /innocent face
        Aww, thank you! I’m glad you’re liking my posts that much/blushes 😳
        Ooh, I’m curious what your opinion is on the otome games then!
        Always my pleasure hehe, specially when I find good people to follow like you 👌😻

        Liked by 1 person

        • heyitszel says:

          Not sure if I’ll ever get around to writing reviews-but i will try! I’ll go back n find your posts to comment on! I really meant to read through all the blog I follow yesterday – but got more busy than anticipated -_-; but I’ll be commenting! And awwwe thanks! I love finding people I can totally relate to on here! Especially otome and cute anime boys >_<

          Like

          • Cat says:

            Heh, don’t worry about reviews, I don’t consider mine reviews at all, so do your thing! 😊✨
            Awwww, thank you 😳 /blushes
            Looking forward to all your comments and love then! 😳
            YES, OTOME AND SHOTAS AND SPORTS ANIME AND LEWD BOYS WITH THEIR NIPPLES AND /coughs
            😳😳😳✨

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

